Wonder What I Can Come Up With For This One ??

Waterlooboy2hp

Registered
Registered
Have had this small bench-top drill press, stored in my barn, for some 30 to 40 years. I say its small, but it is all one person can do to pick it up. Don`t know anything about it. No ID of any kind. I don`t really have any use for it, but I like a good challenge. --- John

eb441f56-f8fe-4d2b-8f77-411c80793732_zpspid2jddy.jpg

Hi Waterlooboy, that looks a lot like an oversized watchmaker's staking tool. It's hard to get a sense of the size of your drill press - would it be possible for you to post a picture with maybe a ruler or just a ball-point pen or something? At any rate, it's clearly meant to be run from a rear-mounted motor with a leather or poly belt. I'm just a beginner at machining, but that looks like it could be a fun project for restoration. I suspect its viability as an actual operational machine, that you could really use in your shop, would depend on the condition of the spindle. Please post more pictures, especially as you proceed with your restoration! Maybe a nice dip in some Evapo-Rust might be a suitable first step... :chunky: :chunky: :chunky:
...Doug in Arizona

got to love those old castings, organic looking, like a tree with missing limbs.