Wondering What I Should Be Doing To Properly Setup My New Pm-932

Jim Wilson

Registered
Registered
I picked up a PM-932V late last summer - and unfortunately a whole bunch of other projects got in the way and I'm just getting to setting the machine up now. I've been reading thru this site and a few others looking for tips and tricks on what I should to do and what I should be checking or measuring to make sure this machine is correctly setup and ready to go.

I've seen threads dealing with things everywhere from taking it all apart and replacing all the lube - to adjusting the gibs , to "tramming" it - etc.

I'll admit to being a total newbie - I've worked on mills and lathes before - but I'm hoping to get some guidance as to how to proceed on getting this setup the right way.

Plug it in or wire it up and make some chips! If you are a total newbie, it would be well worth your while to watch some YouTube videos on safety and basic operations. There are a lot of really good machining videos on YouTube. You could approach it like a class, one step at a time, or do project based learning -- pick an easy project, find out how to do the work, and then just do it. Lather, rinse, pick something a bit more difficult or fussy, and just keep on learning as you play with the toys. Please be careful. When in doubt, doubt! Do some research, ask on the forums, find a mentor you can trust and get along with...

Edit: I see you are new here. Welcome! There is a lot of help and advice available on this site. Use it wisely and you will not need to reinvent the wheel. Ask when something is not clear to you. We have all been there...