Would JB-Weld hold in an engine valve guide.

Rata222

Registered
Registered
I purchased a 1991 Honda Trail 90 non-runner for project to tinker on First off let me say that I am not a mechanic or experienced on engine work. I have been watching a lot of videos and reading to learn . When I disassembled the cylinder and head, I seen that the valve guide was not seated completely into the head. I was able to push it out with a light press of the thumb. It is supposed to be .0015 press fit.
I have been looking at all the correct ways to repair this. I also contacted two cycle machine shops and they said they couldnt do anything - oversize guides are not available. It would be best to find a used head.

Does anyone know if JB-Weld or a high temp loctite product could be used hold the guide in the cylinder head? It is a tight slip fit. Steel guide to aluminum head. I was thinking that the different expansion rate of the two metals would not allow this to work. I know its not the right way - but It would be a cheap easy solution to get the engine running.

Thanks, Jim

Attachments

• 20200624_184248.jpg
    20200624_184248.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 47
  • 20200624_190437.jpg
    20200624_190437.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 47
Put some punch marks on the OD and throw some Loctite retaining juice on her and press it in . If you can stake the top where the guide meets the head , you're good to go . I can't tell you how many tractor engines I've fixed this way , and not a one has come back . :)

I wouldn't use JB Weld or Loctite. If you did & even if it does hold, think about the next time it needs to be replaced.

Is there room to sleeve it?

Are there any clues as to how it got like that? Even though it's got some years on it I can't imagine that to wear out like that. Can you tell if someone caused damaged or used the wrong part?