X2 Mini Mill CNC Conversion?

MGP

Active User
Registered
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
189
Motor connectors wired to the controllers and shield wires grounded.
DSC00459.jpg

DSC00459.jpg
 
Last edited:

MGP

Active User
Registered
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
189
Is it ok to only use three of the four mounting holes on the breakout board?
DSC00464.jpg

DSC00464.jpg
 
Last edited:

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
that will be fine just make sure the cables going out are tied to the case so they cant pull on the board
steve
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
if there is no wiring diagram i'll have to draw one
nothing came with it?
steve
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
motor cables came out nice they look factory made
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
can you get me a close up of the board so i can read it?
if not i will have to go by the video
steve
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
duhhh I forgot about them
ok i'll draw everything, it will be a little bit i'm going to eat dinner then do it.
steve
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
make up your cables tin the ends of the black red and green wires
3 cables long enough to reach the breakout board
only strip the cable long enough to reach each connector so we have shielding as close as possible to the breakout board and the controllers and still be able to connect the wires easily.
1. the red wire from each cable connects to the "com" terminal for each axis X Y Z on the breakout board.
2. at the controller ends of the cables connect the red wire to pul+ and loop a red wire to dir+
3. at the breakout board connect black wire to "pul" at X Y Z connectors
4. at the breakout board connect green wire to "dir" at X Y Z connectors
5. at the controller end of the cables connect the black wires to the "pul-" terminals and the green wires to the "dir-" terminals

we may have to hook up enable but lets try this first
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
I just found another mistake i made
I told you to watch the video for the breakout board and connect your controllers
the connection on the controllers they are talking about in the video are not labeled the same as your controllers
so please toss the video it will be confusing
now for your controllers we do need to add the enable circuit and it is easy
you still have a white wire in your cables. connect the white wire to "en" on the breakout board for X Y Z
and at the controller end connect the whites to the "en-" terminals
next make another red loop of wire for each controller and connect it from a red already connected to the "en+" terminal
any questions about breakout board to controllers please ask
Connecting power to the controllers from the power supply is just a red positive and a black negative from the positive on the power supply to the positive on the controllers and the negatives to the negatives pretty simple except i want you to run a cable to each and ground the shield wires at the power supply to the case every wire in the case is now shielded.
after really going over all wiring and rechecking the colors and nothing is touching anything it should not. plug the motors into the connectors but do not connect either cable to the pc and turn on the power.
you should see a power light on your switch maybe leds on the breakout board and possibly the drivers but nothing happening at all. really the motors should not be humming at braking because we havent sent an enable signal

and we should now be ready to set up mach3 mill.
steve
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
i forgot to remind you the terms step and pulse mean the same thing
so if the breakout board says step and the controller says pulse that is the same
the other terminals will all say dir for direction and en for enable
"com" means positive on this breakout board so if you see step+ dir+ en+ they will all hook to "com" the red wire
(that can be confusing because in dc wiring in the U.S. "com" stands for common and the common is the negative or ground circuit so something was lost in the chinese translation here and the board should be marked ref for reference voltage or 5v + )
steve
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
we could do e-stop now but i want to see some motors spin
 

MGP

Active User
Registered
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
189
Im trying to keep it neat but its starting to look a little ugly
Wired and ready spin them motors but im calling it a night see u all later . Thanks Steve
DSC00466.jpg

DSC00466.jpg
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
a few small wire ties and that will look fine. you can always come back and make it pretty. make it work first. ( that make it work then pretty comment does not work for me look at this 10 year old "prototype" I use it all the time but i never find the time to down size it. I needed a power feed and i had no money . thats a selfpropelled mower transmission so i could disengage for manual movement)
steve

DIGI0044.JPG
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
if you have read everything and double checked everything then you have powered it up and it sat there and did nothing
correct?
 

MGP

Active User
Registered
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
189
if you have read everything and double checked everything then you have powered it up and it sat there and did nothing
correct?
I have double checked everything but I have not powered it up yet or read any of the mach3 stuff yet gotta go up to my parents. So I will get in touch with you later. Happy Fathers Day
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
thank you
I have a 1:30 lunch at my daughters but I'm going to work on the setting pages for mach3 in here untill i go so it will be easy for you to read it and set it.
have a good day
steve
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
with nothing connected to your pc from the control box
start mach3 mill, dont worry about the flashing reset
upper left of screen open "config" and look at the bottom of the list you will see "save settings" this is very important and if you forget to press it before closing mach3 after setting up everything your settings "will be lost". on a mach3 restart you will have to start over again. when i ask you to save thats it. if I forget you do it before closing mach3 lol
1. open config select "select native units" a note pops up press ok, pick inch press ok. never change this, it is a one time setting for motor tuning. if you ever change it you will have to retune the motors.

now you need to open the mach3 mill setup and config pdf on your other pc and read chapter 5 down thru 5.3.5 table 5-2 thats enough reading for now.
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
as you enter the information you will see "port" number
your pc has only one parallel port and it is "1" if on a port setting you enter anything but a '1" mach3 is looking for a parallel port you dont have.

on figure 5-1 set everything as you see in the pdf the same on your "port setup and axis selection" screen thats the default and a pc parallel port address standard (0x378)
and pick 25000hz ( we can try a higher setting here later if you register your mach3 to get more speed but this is the only setting for demo mode)
click ok and save it by clicking config and then save settings.
go to 5.2.3 in the pdf, then open that screen in mach3 "motor outputs" put a check in the boxes for XYZ enables. no other enables should be a green check.
on XYZ's "dir low... and step low" boxes make them all green arrows. (because we have a lack of documentation i'm setting these low(low means ground the pin#) because when we wired the drives we sent 5v to every signal on the controllers. thats the com red wire looping to all circuits marked with a + sign, so to make the circuit operate we are telling mach3 to ground the return signal)
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
daddy day be back later
save before shutting down
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
ok to continue on the "motor outputs" screen in mach3 ports and pins
we have enabled XYZ, put green arrows on their "dir lowactives" and on their "step lowactives"
(just a note to remember here if your motors move the wrong direction for your mill, change the green checks to X's on the "dir lowactive" column. you wont know untill you build the mill but here is where you change it)
so to finish this screen we need to put in the step and direction pin numbers for each axis. ( the pin numbers are printed on top your breakout board )
but here they are

X step is 2
X dir is 3
y step is 4
y dir is 5
z step is 6
z dir is 7
you have to love this breakout board for easy setup and you dont have to be worried about low power to the pin from your pc because the board is self powered.

close this screen and go to config and save.

reopen "ports and pins" select "input signals" screen and in the "enable" column make sure nothing has a green check mark. use the scroll bar and check the entire list.
that is where you tell mach3 how to set up limit switches and e-stop we dont have them yet.
if you see numbers in a row that is not checked they mean nothing the row is not enabled.
click ok then "config' "save settings"
open ports and pins again go to "output signals" screen
we only have one output signal for now
go to enable1 put a check for enabled it is on port1 the pin# is 17 and put a red X for low active. make sure no others have a green enable check mark and click ok
go to config and save
that was the enable circuit we wired for each controller and they all turn on together with pin 17 the low active means mach3 grounds the pin# 17 to turn them on.
low active means mach3 grounds the pin
high active means mach3 sends voltage to the pin

I know i'm explaining a lot but if you dont know this and you want to add or change something later you wont know how.

e are now ready to go to motor tuning.
 
Last edited:

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
motor tuning
select config and then motor tuning
across the bottom your settings are
10000 for steps per
50 in per min to start with max in velocity ( keep the machine slow for now )
30 acceleration
1 for step pulse
1 for dir pulse
these settings will be the same for X Y and Z
press the X axis button enter each setting and press save axis settings
press the Y axis button enter each setting and press save axis settings
press the Z axis button enter each setting and press save axis settings
press ok

we will adjust these settings once the motors are on the mill

dont forget to select config and save your settings
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
ok close mach3 and reboot the pc reopen mach3 and from the "program run" screen
click load g-code in the popup box select roadrunner.tap
press cycle start your motors should be running
you wont see much from z
how did we do?
steve
 

MGP

Active User
Registered
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
189
ok close mach3 and reboot the pc reopen mach3 and from the "program run" screen
click load g-code in the popup box select roadrunner.tap
press cycle start your motors should be running
you wont see much from z
how did we do?
steve
She Runs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and perfectly i must say:):)
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,241
thats great
we need parts for the mill to arrive
have fun run some g-code watch the motors and keep me posted or ask anything you may run across
pm me when you are ready to start on the mill itself
steve
 
Top