Yet another G0704 to CNC (was CNC Conversion Grizzly G0704 V.S. G0759 )

angelfj1

Active User
Registered
Anxiously awaiting arrival of the new Grizzly G0704. ETA, Monday 3/24.

The plan is to convert this mill to CNC per Hoss - Phase II and also belt drive, simple manual ATC, extended Y- travel, rear mounted Y-axis stepper and possibly a larger motor. I have very little experience operating a mill, but I understand basic lathe operation and own a 9x20. I hope to learn manual operation first and my goal is to make the CNC conversion parts according to Hoss's design prints.

I do have a question for those of you who made your CNC parts with a manual mill. Is a rotary table necessary (or desireable) for parts with a round profile like ballscrew mounts, etc.

Stay tuned for more.

Frank

:))

Last edited:
So I was kinda in the same. Boat as you.

decent amount of experience on a lathe and none on a mill.

i did the conversion too soon, then got overwhelmed with the cnc part.

my advise is to play with making stuff with wax and a lot of it. Then go cnc.

i had to sell my X2 rather then back it out. So now I have a g0704 and getting ready to convert. But I still think it might be too soon.

my experience with with cnc was like trying to add a third arm on my body and controlling it with my eyes closed. Learning cnc is hard IMO , it's harder if you don't have the milling experience.

learning cnc means learning cad at the same time, very overwhelming. But fun as he'll.

its a great hobby, But. Ramp up is huge

Buy a a handwheel, best addition ever

good luck, I look forward to all your lessons learned, I may have not learned yet

Vectric software can help ease the cad/cam learning curve if needed. VcarvePro is 2.5d and Aspire is their 3d package. Free demos are downloadable.

Frank,