Z-axis Power Feed install

BGHansen

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I absolutely hated hank cranking the knee on my Bridgeport mill. Might be old age or the fact that I work for a living to afford some conveniences, so I bought a Z-axis power feed unit from All Industrial Tool supply as a belated birthday present to myself. Don’t mind birthdays so much when stuff like this shows up on the porch!

The unit is made in China by Asong and is available ffrom many outlets. All Industrial Tool had it for $350 including shipping for price comparisons. There’s a photo of the parts in the kit spread out for view. Set all of the parts out and skimmed through the manual before getting started.

Frankly, the manual reminded me of a Jim Gaffigan shtick about Hot Pockets; the instructions should say “take out of package and insert directly into the toilet”. I’m not a total idiot here, but the instructions are about as bad as I’ve seen. Nothing mentioned about drilling holes through shafts for spring pins, light on the procedure to shim the drive gear for proper mesh with the motor pinion, light info on shimming the micrometer dial, etc.

I pretty much figured out how it would go together, but hit YouTube for some confirmation. Found this helpful link from Old Ironworker who installed a similar unit on his mill:

First step is to pull the crank, gear shaft clutch insert (Bridgeport’s name – castle nut on the elevating shaft), and micrometer dial from the mill. I fractured the castle nut when pulling it . . . It’s not reused and replacements are available for $35, but not a good start to the project.