Zero Experience + Atlas QC42 = ?

Unfinished_Projects

Registered
Registered
Just picked up this Atlas QC42 that needs some TLC and parts. I have zero experience with machining so I'm looking forward to the learning process.

This site seems to have a wealth of knowledge and resources so I'll start doing my research. In the mean time, here's some pics of its current condition.

Obviously need to find a motor, so I'll probably start there. If you see anything off in the pictures that needs to be addressed I'm all ears.

I found an old PDF of a parts manual and lathe operations so I'll get to studying that as well.

Thanks!

IMG_8205.JPG

IMG_8206.JPG

IMG_8207.JPG

IMG_8208.JPG

IMG_8209.JPG

IMG_8210.JPG

IMG_8212.JPG

IMG_8213.JPG

IMG_8214.JPG

IMG_8215.JPG

Just picked up this Atlas QC42 that needs some TLC and parts. I have zero experience with machining so I'm looking forward to the learning process.

This site seems to have a wealth of knowledge and resources so I'll start doing my research. In the mean time, here's some pics of its current condition.

Obviously need to find a motor, so I'll probably start there. If you see anything off in the pictures that needs to be addressed I'm all ears.

I found an old PDF of a parts manual and lathe operations so I'll get to studying that as well.

Thanks!

Looks in very nice shape. A little cleaning and you’ll be set...... welcome to the group.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks!

Any advice on motors? Sounds like 1725 rpm, 1/2 hp, reversible TFEC?

Have read the newer imported motors may be overrated so 3/4 hp if I go that route?

I think it would be nice to find an older used motor that is made in the USA. My only concern would be if that motor has lived a long hard life already.

Has anyone recently bought a motor for QC42 and if so, how's it working out for you?

Thanks again

Thanks!

Any advice on motors? Sounds like 1725 rpm, 1/2 hp, reversible TFEC?