AA/Craftsman 109 upgrade

Jack Welch

Registered
Registered
Greetings,

I am new to the Hobby-Machinist.com group. I just kind of stumbled in after a google search. My hobby is restoring pre-war and post-war british rally and race cars.
I had been using my machinists lathe with his direction, and I thought the time was right to purchase a smaller lathe and try out some work on my own. I have, many many years ago used a Atlas/ Craftsman 101 for smaller engine parts, to good effect.

So I purchased a good condition Craftsman 109. 6" metal lathe. I posted this on the welcome board and basically I was told to forget the Craftsman 109 as it was a toy.

Well I don't want to scrap the Craftsman 109 so I have a question. Can the Atlas 101/ Craftsman Headstock be made to fit onto the Craftsman 109 metal lathe bed?

Sincerely,

Jack

Well if your objective was to practice on your own with some small parts then I can’t say you made bad choice. Most machinists dismiss them as “toys” but that dismissal is born of perception not reality.

I had a 109 and properly taken care of, it is quite capable of matching quality of a basic Sherline or Taig hobby lathe. Some machinist may chime in here and say that those are toys as well. The one advantage I had with mine was that it was modified to a 3/4” spindle at some point in the past. That allowed me to cut stainless with it…although with a lot of care.

All that is to say if you need to practice then use the 109. As you progress you will want to do bigger and more difficult things which then help you relate to why the 109 can be dismissed in the way that it is.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The 109 Dunlap has a v-way bed vs. the flat way bed on the Atlas machines, so I think you'd be in for some carving to fit one to the other

I have one of these, and it is true they leave much to be desired. I also have a Craftsman 101.21400 (aka Atlas 618) which is far superior despite the similarity in size.