CNC conversion advice wanted

Mtnmac

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
My major project this winter will be converting a DM-45 mill to CNC. This won’t be the build thread, I will start that later. I’m interested in some general opinions and advice from people who have done similar conversions. Nothing has been purchased yet, so I’m open to any changes. Feel free to make any comments or point out possible problems with my plan. I’m glad I found this forum, there is a wealth of information here.

I’m a retired machinist so don’t need advice on design/cad/cam software.
I have another mill and lathe, so making all the necessary parts is no problem.

The machine is a typical column type 45 series bench mill with geared head.
Head will be counterweighted.
Ballscrews with double nuts, 16mm XY, 20mm Z.
X axis motor will be mounted parallel to ballscrew, on front of table.
Y axis motor will be mounted parallel to ballscrew, on side of base casting.
X, Y driven by timing belts, ratio to be determined, maybe 2:1 for torque?
Z axis will be direct drive.
Drive components:
Closed loop steppers, drives, and power supplies from Steppersonline.
X,Y. 679 in/oz.
Z. 1274 in/oz,
Stepper motors operating at 60V.
Centroid Acorn operating system and hardware.
Intel NUC computer with touch screen, as recommended by Centroid.
Spindle motor will remain stock at this time, will replace with 3ph and VFD later.

So, opinions on using the timing belts vs direct drive? I’m aware this is a more complex setup, but it reduces the space required for the machine. I have a small shop, but If there are any real advantages to going direct drive, that could be done.

Anyone have suggestions on where to buy ballscrews? I’m not finding kits for these size mills. If necessary, I will buy longer screws and machine the ends myself.