East Tennessee

Damn Yankee

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hi Folks,

I am looking for a mentor in East Tennessee. I live in Grainger County near the Cherokee Dam. I couldn't move a knee mill so purchased a VM27-D (7 x 27) tabletop mill last year. This year I bought a G4003G (12 x 36) lathe (still cleaning the Chinese off it). Have most tooling and measurement tools and understand basic machining. I'm not stupid; I get Trig, and I am an engineer so my mind never stops.

I'm looking for someone who is smart, honest, has been around the block a few times and can help with some suggestions and guidance which would allow me to machine smarter and safer and open my mind to new ways of thinking. I would love to learn the nuances between certain machines. You are welcome to my home, I will drive to your shop, or I don't mind buying lunches somewhere neutral! If I pull up to your house, my car or truck won't leak oil on your driveway, and I won't track crap all over your shop. I'm not a Cling-On and can take a subtle hint. I bathe regularly and don't have cooties. I hate thieves, never been arrested, and I don't do drugs. Need to know anything else - just ask.

Hobbies are electronics, woodworking, welding, automobiles, physics, night sky, computer programming, ham radio, and now, machining. Very good at most, pretty good at the rest, looking to put machining near the top.

Hope to meet someone.

John

I wish you weren't clear across the country! I have been to Grainger and Union counties, Union used to be part of Grainger county when my GGGF was born there in 1820, he came west in the 1840s, settled here, family has been here ever since. I look forward to at least answering questions the you may post.

Hi John,

Excellent introduction and I see that Admins have already got you on the MAP.

See you around H-M.

Hi John,
I envy your many hobbies, and the variety thereof.