T-Slot Base for new lathe tool post.

aluminum

Registered
Registered
I'm just starting out with a new lathe and I bought a new tool post. The new Aloris style post came with a base that needs to machined as a T-Slot. The base on the original turret post has a different thread so i cannot use the original one. I don't have a milling machine yet. I am hoping someone near Denver, CO would be willing to machine this with the T-Slot for me at a price that won't break my bank.

If I were doing this myself, I would face the bottom, then bring the top down to final thickness, and then cut the slots on the side. It is already drilled and tapped. I don't have a whole lot of machining experience but I am pretty sure it's this simple. Someone more experienced may have a different opinion. I'm open to better or different ways, but just trying to be descriptive. I'll add some additional photos soon.

Thank you for your input.

Attachments

• 566~2.jpeg
    566~2.jpeg
    8.2 KB · Views: 44
You can put the stud in the T-nut, chuck up by the stud, face the bottom. Remove part from chuck, reverse the stud location, chuck up & face the top. Then mount the T-nut on the compound and using an end mill in the chuck to cut the steps. Necessity is the mother of invention.

You can put the stud in the T-nut, chuck up by the stud, face the bottom. Remove part from chuck, reverse the stud location, chuck up & face the top. Then mount the T-nut on the compound and using an end mill in the chuck to cut the steps. Necessity is the mother of invention.