Torque Wrench and Guidance

StudioMachinist

Registered
Registered
I realize I'm being a bit over protective and anal here (just purchased a new PM lathe and mill), but I'm interested in some general guidance on torque specs for column mounting bolts, work holding clamps, etc - anything related to taking apart and operating a mill/lathe.

I work in construction and I know when im about to strip a bolt but i don't know how much I need to wrench down and on what with these machines.

Has anyone ever documented a general guide? I don't have lb-ft intuition, is there a good torque wrench that could be recommended for the new owner of a PM-727 and PM-1130?

I swear I'm not OCD, but it will break my heart of I unnecessary strip cast iron threads or throw a part because I was too afraid to over tighten the some clamp.

Search “ bolt torque guidelines” and you’ll find more info than you want. PM should also be able to provide specs based on expected loads and materials of construction.

That said, I didn’t use a torque wrench when I shimmed the column on my fixed-column Mini-Mill.

Search “ bolt torque guidelines” and you’ll find more info than you want. PM should also be able to provide specs based on expected loads and materials of construction.

That said, I didn’t use a torque wrench when I shimmed the column on my fixed-column Mini-Mill.
You're not joking. This helps a lot, thanks

I realize I'm being a bit over protective and anal here (just purchased a new PM lathe and mill), but I'm interested in some general guidance on torque specs for column mounting bolts, work holding clamps, etc - anything related to taking apart and operating a mill/lathe.

I work in construction and I know when im about to strip a bolt but i don't know how much I need to wrench down and on what with these machines.

Has anyone ever documented a general guide? I don't have lb-ft intuition, is there a good torque wrench that could be recommended for the new owner of a PM-727 and PM-1130?