An argument for indicators & gages in lieu of a DRO system for work positioning

marka12161

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
A few months ago i brought home a bridgeport mill and Monarch 10EE lathe both of which were equipped with CBX DRO systems (3 axis on the mill, 2 axis on the lathe). I've never used a DRO system before and had grown acustomed to using a combination of machine dials, gage blocks, planer gages, micrometers and dial indicators for work positioning. While at first look, the DRO system promised to reduce/eliminate the need for these methods. However, I found that in order to compensate for cumulative error (.001 or ,002) inherent in the DRO system, I was checking dimensions using my old methods. In conjunction with this, I grew tired of working around the transducer wires and the scales when cleaning the machines. I finally made the decision to remove the DRO systems all together and revert to my old ways. I have not regretted this decision. Has anyone else made this decision and if so, what was your reasoning?

Might just be the DRO in question. I had a Shooting Star DRO on my lathe at one time, which I think is the same thing. At first it was fine, but it definitely developed problems with age (which never got to be that old). When it started outright 'jumping' I replaced it with a "better" DRO and it's been fine since.

GsT

I like Travadials, have one on my 19" Regal, also I use step block gages and 123 blocks for measuring to a stop, and also use a 1" travel micrometer stop for much the same purpose, it was original equipment on a Monarch toolroom lathe. I only ever has one DRO on a mill in my shop downtown, it was on an Induma 1-S just two axis, all the scales and readers were out of the way and it was easy to clean up.