Casting sand questions

mac1911

Registered
Registered
I struggle to find answers to my questions with internet searches.

Im trying to figure out how much sand I need fill a mold thats 12x14x 6” deep.
Im also struggling to find casting sand thats sold in quantities that are more affordable
Stuff seems expensive to me?

I depending on cash outlay Im contemplating casting some aluminum and bronze parts.

LxWxD?

12 cubed is one cubic foot, so depending on your mold you could possibly get away with half a cubic foot.

I’m no expert in casting, haven’t done it since Jr. High. Might be some homebrew formulas out there, or maybe there’s somebody close to you who would be willing to share.

John

Last edited:
Do yourself a favor and make your own green sand (sand of appropriate fineness + fireclay). It's much nicer to work with, cheaper and easier to retemper, and doesn't stink like oil-tempered sands. I'm sure I can find the formulation I used if you need it. As to how much, I'm too lazy to figure it out, but if you're making your own it's so cheap you won't care.

GsT

Im also struggling to find casting sand thats sold in quantities that are more affordable

I depending on cash outlay Im contemplating casting some aluminum and bronze parts.
Spent foundry sand was all I could find data for: 160 lbs./cu.ft.; x 12x24x6/1,728 = 93 lbs. Spent sand may be denser than fresh, but I don’t know.