Cutting A Ring From A Plate

ch2co

Grumpy Old Man
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Real lathe newbie here, who has probably a dumb question, but …OK, so how do I explain this. I’m starting out with a piece of 1/2” x 7” x 7” aluminum plate that I was going to bolt through it’s center to a 1” rod that will be mounted in the chuck of my 10 x 22 Grizzly lathe.
I need to end up with a ring 5.5” od x 4.5” id x 1/2” thick from this plate. What type of tool should I use to plunge into the face of the plate that will cut all the way through without hanging up on the walls of the (circular) groove that will eventually go all the way through the plate.
Or is this not the way to go about it? I want to save the center 4”+ disk for another smaller ring.

Obtain a 3/16 HSS tool bit, and sharpen it like a cut off tool, square on the end, under cut both sides, back just under half an inch, (and perhaps tapered back from the cutting edge, and cut a tiny groove (Dremel cut off wheel will do) just behind the front edge, and get the tool supported at least as close as 9/16 from the cutting edge.
I would suggest that you put your lathe in it's slowest gear and feed by hand, while continuously applying kerosene or some other liquid with a small brush just ahead of the tool.

Cut both cuts nearly all the way through, then finish the outer cut first.

Were I doing it, I'd put it on a face plate, with the nut at the middle and clamps around the outside or drilled through the corners. Suspended your way it's going to ring like a large bell.

another approach would be to turn your od first using the bolt to hold the plate onto the chuck, then use the chuck jaws on the OD and bore the inside to the correct dimensions

I have a couple pictures that show the tool in operation. I was making a couple backing plates. Here is the link
Pierre