koenbro

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hello everyone, I am starting this thread to gather resources and ask questions about turning. I am about to put down the money for a new Eisen 1340 lathe. Have started to learn the basics of turning, by reading the SouthBend book by O'Brien and O'Brien. Have zero interest in grinding my own cutters, and would like insert tools, so have started reading @davidpbest 's superb book "Intro to Indexable Tooling."

Any advice to a novice? Anything about my choice of lathe I should know -- have not yet sent the money and have a last minute chance of walking back if a compelling reason emerges. By way of background, I looked at the usual hobbyist options (PM, etc) and have even toyed with buying a Hardinge from 1946 but as a complete and total noob, I cannot asses the wear and tear in an old lathe. So I have a strong preference to buying new Taiwanese, and not interested in old iron. Having bought a PM mill I am OK with them but am also ready to try smth different, hence looking at Eisen, which is probably similar in most regards, but slightly better value it seems. Initially wanted a 1324 but they are out so 1340 it is. Can not afford a 3-phase, thus will stay 220 V 1-ph.

Thanks in advance for all the help.

Last edited:
Don't eschew learning to grind HSS tools.
They are inexpensive, can easily be ground in a million specialty shapes with an ordinary bench grinder, are forgiving of mistakes and a part of every manual machinist's tool kit.

Don't eschew learning to grind HSS tools.
They are inexpensive, can easily be ground in a million specialty shapes with an ordinary bench grinder, are forgiving of mistakes and a part of every manual machinist's tool kit.
+1
HSS takes less tool pressure to cut and you can take finer, more precise cuts with it. Great for rework.