Engraving Numbers On A Dial

old toolmaker

Registered
Registered
I have a 360 degree dial I have turned from 303 stainless for my Quorn Tool Grinder that is in need of number engraving. I have made several others using a CNC mill but I sold the mill when I retired. I am thinking of stamping the numbers using steel number stamps. I am not sure that that stamping will work well on 303 stainless as it does not knurl well. Any suggestions?

Dick

a couple thoughts,
if you have a dividing head, you may be able to hold the part between centers and grind or purchase a bit to suit the graduation
it could be done on a vertical mill.

it's possible even on a lathe if you had or made some kind of indexing plate.
you'd use the carriage to cut the index lines

I don't have any issues with engraving the lines as I have a headstock dividing attachment for my lathe that I just recently finished building. I know how to stamp the numbers also but i was concerened with stamping 303 stainless. I suppose I could try a sample and see how it goes. I am looking also for alternative methods of numbering.

Dick

You might have luck by contacting a local trophy shop. They can engrave the numbers on your dial. I have no idea about the cost, but the amount of time involved in building the Quorn, it would be a shame to have ugly or crooked numbers on your dial.

You might have luck by contacting a local trophy shop. They can engrave the numbers on your dial. I have no idea about the cost, but the amount of time involved in building the Quorn, it would be a shame to have ugly or crooked numbers on your dial.