1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

[Newbie] First Cnc Build : Hd Router/mill

Discussion in 'CNC IN THE HOME SHOP' started by Iceman, Aug 13, 2016.

1. Iceman

Iceman United States Active Member Active Member

City:
    Upstate
    State:
    New York

-Return to Top-

I have never built a CNC machine, and it has been years (10+) since I have played around with one. I'm 30, and I am a Flight Engineer / Pilot (not an EE, I don't do industrial automation for work, etc.).

I grew up around airplanes, and I may have a few engineering courses under my belt. The machine is in the drafting phase, and the electronics (the heart) are starting to come together.

System voltage input: 240VAC split phase
    Control/Safety Voltage: 120VAC, 24VDC
    Motion Control Voltage: 5VDC
    Stepper Voltage: 65VDC

Motion Control: Hicon Integra 6-axis motion controller
    Stepper Drivers x4: Kelling KL8056
    Currently planning Nema23 425oz-in 8 wire Steppers (on hand) - not 100% sure this will be sufficient for all axis.

Safety: Dold Safety Relay (controls main contactor)
    -E-stop
    -Start/Stop switches

The Teaser: 14012885_10153648073736237_176500348_o.jpg

(Shop Approved footwear?)

Last edited: Aug 15, 2016
    brino, compsurge and wrat like this.
  2. TomS

TomS Active User H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    Redding
    State:
    California

-Return to Top-

Looking good! Keep us posted on your progress.

Tom S.

3. Boswell

Boswell United States Hobby Machinist since 2010 H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    Cedar Park
    State:
    Texas

-Return to Top-

Very Nice! Looking forward to seeing updates on your build.

4. Iceman

City:
    Upstate
    State:
    New York

-Return to Top-