Gear Noise

rdean

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have been making gears for my projects for many years and in several different DP sizes. I started out by grinding a steel fly cutter by eye and it did work but it left much to be desired. I had a project that required a 16DP cutter so I bought a set of involute cutters from China. They were actually a good set and I finished that project. Later there was a project that required M1 cutters so again I bought a set from China and surprise they were of good quality.

A couple of years back I started building model internal combustion engines. At first I was cutting the gears for them with the M1 but the teeth were just too large and they didn't look right. I decided on a set of cutters from India that are M.7 in size and matched the models size better.

When running my engines I have noticed that they are very noisy and most of that noise is coming from the gears and not from the rest of the engine. The gear noise does drop down with each each step down in DP and tooth size but it is still very annoying. I know that helicol gears do run quieter than straight cut gears so I will have a go at making some helicol involute gears.

I choose my Royal Blue hit miss engine for the test as the gears are eisiely accessible.
I used my M.7 cutters and tilted the rotary table back 20 degrees as that looked about right. I thought 30 degrees was a little too much.
GEDC5560.JPG

After figuring out the tooth count that would the closest to the outside diameter of the original set I made the gears. I should have done some closer research as I found out that there is a left and right side to helicol gears. Well I made two right hand gears and they do not mesh in a straight line. They fit together with the shafts at a 40 degree angle to each other which is not what I wanted. (I do need to remember that as it may come in handy on another project)