Hardinge 5c Speed Chuck

alloy

Dan, Retired old fart
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I'm thinking of upgrading to a Hardinge 5c speed chuck for my jet lathe. It has a D1-4 mount and has a cheap 5c closer on it. It does not run concentric. It's a direct mount and other than grinding the taper I see now way of getting it to run concentric.

I've never used a speed chuck before. I do see one draw back for it, I don't have a foot brake to stop the spindle to lock the chuck to tighten and loosen it. I usually just shift it to low if I need to lock the spindle.

There are a couple of them on ebay. Any drawbacks to using one that I'm not aware of?

They are nice . Only drawback is its limited to 5C diameters . Another choice would be a Jacobs flex chuck which allows for larger stock .

that's a good price. at the cabin fever auction a hardinge speed chuck w/ 1.5-8 tpi went for over $500, which I thought was way too high.
Can you add a brake like I did. I used a bicycle disc brake.

I have the rubber and 5C they hammer closed and open and I do not need to brake the spindle to use it.

that's a good price. at the cabin fever auction a hardinge speed chuck w/ 1.5-8 tpi went for over $500,
The Jacobs flex collet chuck and full set of collets did not sell . They were listed for $300 or $250 . I was eyeballing them for @keeena as he was looking for a D1-5 mount set . He was a little late getting back to me but that wasn't a bad price at all .

I've read all your replies and I would love to have a collet chuck with a larger diameter capacity. There is even a jacobs flex collet chuck on ebay that is a d1-4 mount. It looks kinda rough. though. https://www.ebay.com/itm/225967708432?hash=item349cb99910:g:OlsAAOSwzgtki603