Heavy 10 Cam Lock with Collet Sleeve

brandon428

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
I have a Heavy 10 I acquired recently that came with a Cam Lock spindle and 5c collet closer. I've never worked on a lathe with a Cam Lock before, so I'm used to having a knock out nut to remove the collet sleeve that goes into the headstock. Looking at the part sheets, the Cam Lock's don't have knock out nuts, so how do you get the collet sleeve off?

Assuming the 5c adapter is inserted into the spindle, use a knock-out bar from the back end of the spindle. Preferably with something soft on the end like aluminum, brass or plastic.

Like was said before, a knock-out bar or a D1 nose mount which has a thread protector for the nose with external threads for step collets. The nose mount in this picture is from a 10EE. The knock-out bar is from the 10EE also, but I use it for both it and my Toolmex. The 10EE uses a handwheel type. The Toolmex uses a lever type with an internal sleeve. The spindle nose is D1-6.

IMG_1708.jpg

Assuming the 5c adapter is inserted into the spindle, use a knock-out bar from the back end of the spindle. Preferably with something soft on the end like aluminum, brass or plastic.

When you say 5c adapter, is that the same thing I'm calling a collet sleeve? I swear the back of that wasn't accessible, because it flush against something else, perhaps setup for the collet closer, but I'll check again.

When you say 5c adapter, is that the same thing I'm calling a collet sleeve? I swear the back of that wasn't accessible, because it flush against something else, perhaps setup for the collet closer, but I'll check again.
No, I was thinking of the adapters that insert into a taper in the spindle nose.

If you over-rotate the cam-lock when loosening, will it push the adapter out a little?

Hmmm, I don't use the cam-lock with the collet closer. Let me step back and make sure I'm not missing a part/step.