How Much Run Out Is Acceptable On Drill Chuck

Swerdk

Registered
Registered
when testing a drill chuck on a lathe,how do you judge acceptable run out? I am new to this so I want to see if my Chinese drill chuck is worth keeping. I have not tested it yet but it seems that people are happy if run out is <.003 Is this correct?

Last edited:
I personally would consider 3 thou acceptable for a Chinese drill chuck.

But what is acceptable for a rohn or albretch (sp?)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

But what is acceptable for a rohn or albretch (sp?)

I guess I would want a little more accuracy out of a Rohn or Albrecht. I would expect near 0, but the arbor has a lot to do with this too.

I'm going to catch he!! for this, but the easiest way to dial in a drill chuck is with a ground pin in the jaws and smack the chuck body with a dead blow hammer to indicate it in. Works in drill presses, lathes and mills. No, it won't hurt your spindle.

Last edited:
Interesting. What are you using for the pin

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I should have been more clear, you smack the body of the chuck with the dead blow, not the pin. Any dowel pin or similar will work.

I edited my post above.

Don't get to concerned about your drill chuck's accuracy, it will be no better the bit that you use. Just remember that a drill chuck / bit is basically a roughing tool.

I have seen brand new name brand chucks have >0.005” run out. The one chuck I usually grab has been with me for decades and has <0.001” run out. And I have spun a tap in it more than once and it still runs true. Never had to hit it with any hammer either:big grin:. I don’t think the best name brand chuck is going to make you happy every time. Because a lot of USA manufactures are Importing now. I think, if you just find a good chuck from under test, hang on to it…Dave.