Is It Practical To Scrape Older Starrett Steel Straight Edge Back To Decent Tolerance?

Playingwithmetal

Registered
Registered
Hey. I have yet another question,and always appreciate your insightful responses. I got a older 13.5 inch Starrett beveled straight edge. It is 3/16" thick and under inspection has a large bow in the middle. I'm considering scraping it flat again and using it again. I am a novice scraper and have only done a few projects using scraping. I would be using carbide have scrapers. I am considering what the appropriate way to go about holding the piece down. I am also unsure if the re clamping process over the repeated scraping cycles is likely to warp the straight edge. Wish I had a bench mounted permanent magnetic Chuck for such thing. Any input and or real world experience would be greatly appreciated.

Sure, you can scrape the reference surface in. It is is merely bent then you need to straighten it out. If it will be a reference surface you need a surface plate that is in current calibration, or you will only transfer it's faults to your straightedge. You can clamp it on the wide faces between two steel bars in a vise to scrape it. The bars need to be straight, but not dead nuts straight. You will only be clamping it tight enough to scrape it and it is a hardened tool which will spring back after it is released, so long as you have reasonably straight clamping bars and do not gronk it to death in the vise. It can also be lapped in. Maybe you should define what you mean by " a large bow in the middle." Is it a few tenths, a few thou, or a few sixteenths? And I assume you mean a bow on the reference surface. I don't think you want to scrape the wide sides flat, unless it is just a few tenths...

Edit: that might be problematic anyway because as you scrape the flat sides you will be letting the stresses in the metal out and may end up chasing your tail, you scrape, it warps, you scrape some more, it warps some more...

Last edited: