Kurt 8" Vise Swap

boldham

Registered
Registered
I'm a newbie (this will be apparent upon further reading). I bought a used Kurt D80 8" vise thinking why wouldn't I want more capacity. OMG, this thing is massive. I now realize I probably need a 4" vise for my benchtop mill (Rusnok style). Anyone have any suggestions for trading down! I'm hoping I can trade for a similar quality, but more reasonably sized, vise. I suspect shipping would not be an option as it weighs over 150 lbs and I have several sets of jaws probably bringing shipping weight up to nearly 200 lbs. Any ideas welcome. Thanks, Brendan

Yes, they are pretty big and heavy. I have an 8 inch Kurt that has the rotary base on it and I use an overhead chain fall hoist to lift it.
If I didn't already have one I would be interested. Someone out there will want it for sure. Maybe Craig's list or EBay would work for you.
I bought mine on EBay and had it truck shipped to Minnesota. Good luck Brendan.

Welcome to HM!

Wow, that is a BIG mistake! I hope you didn't buy it new.

Most practical is to try to sell it locally, CL, FB Marketplace. They can be very handy to have for a full-size vertical mill, but are so unwieldy (and expensive) that demand is limited. Your most likely market is in the industry, few hobbyists will need one that large. If you're willing to part with it for the price of a D40 you will probably find a taker.

Some lessons are more expensive than others.
Good luck.

Wow, that is a BIG mistake! I hope you didn't buy it new.

Most practical is to try to sell it locally, CL, FB Marketplace. They can be very handy to have for a full-size vertical mill, but are so unwieldy (and expensive) that demand is limited. Your most likely market is in the industry, few hobbyists will need one that large. If you're willing to part with it for the price of a D40 you will probably find a taker.

Some lessons are more expensive than others.
Good luck.