Logan 2555 (12") - Oil in the Apron

Wobbles

Active User
Registered
Logan 2555 (12") Lathe - Oil in the apron

When I got my new (to me) Logan I rushed to YouTube, as I was taught to do by my 2 computer-savvy sons, to see what Logan videos were out there. There is really only one for my model... and it shows a guy installing bushings to tighten up the carriage handwheel. Since my handwheel flopped up and down about 1/4 inch I thought this might be a good idea. Further inspection revealed this mod had already been done on my machine, and so all I had to do was knock out the old bushings and pop in the new.

While I was in there, I started studying why these parts wear the way they did. (One of my job duties is root cause analysis.) Although I'm still awaiting the new bushings, it's already clear to me that the oil level within the apron is critical to reducing wear on these shafts and gears. Not only will the gear oil "climb" the gear sets to the highest gears, but will most probably also wet the cases, which will in turn, lube all the shafts too. I intend to run some tests when the apron is back together and I'll let you know.

However, the point of this post is to say if your lubrication chart shows oil is added to the apron, or you find a drain plug on the bottom of the apron, then you might just want to add some appropriate gear oil to the apron sump. Mine looks to take about 1/3 quart, so we're not talking about a huge investment. And too, consider that Logan is asking $125 for the handwheel shaft !! So repairs, due to lack of oil, can get expensive.

:thumbzup:

Last edited:
Good info Wobbles. Sometimes maintenance can get over looked, especially with us weekenders. We use the machine a little here and a little there, not realizing how many hours have actually accumulated and before you know it, you have more than you should. Thanks for the reminder.