Mill Vise Opinions

JPigg55

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Been chatting with Terry Wermer about a deal from a co-worker for a NIB 4" precision milling vise from The Little Machine Sop with swivel base for $100.
Before clamping myself in on the deal, thought I'd take opinions on milling vises.
Videos I've watched tend to recommend buying a good vise like a Kurt or Glacern over a cheaper one.
Looking at prices, my wallet my make the final choice.
What are your thoughts ?

I bought a Chinese milling vise and I'm really not very happy with it. Even though it is based on the curt anglelock design it does not seem to work well unless I really tighten down the lock (sorry not sure what the thing is actually called). When I tighten it down to what is required it is very hard to open/close the vise.

I am just a hobbyist so for me I live with it, it cost me $139 for my 4" vise. I would never want to use this vise in a real shop every day.

Also I removed the swivel base and have never used it, so that is another thing to consider.

I got a cheap 4" vice from QMT when I bought my little PM mill. It clamps things and works. It is not really square all the way around.
I waited for a discount +free shipping from Enco and used it for a Kurt.
Get the Kurt now or later, you will be happy you did.

Been chatting with Terry Wermer about a deal from a co-worker for a NIB 4" precision milling vise from The Little Machine Sop with swivel base for $100.
Before clamping myself in on the deal, thought I'd take opinions on milling vises.
Videos I've watched tend to recommend buying a good vise like a Kurt or Glacern over a cheaper one.
Looking at prices, my wallet my make the final choice.
What are your thoughts ?
if your a fair machinist the vise will work ok. don't get it to make parts for nasa.