Need Help Tooling Id

lowlife

Registered
Registered
This stuff came with the lathe I bought. I am a noob and don't know what half this stuff is or how to use it. I got the steady rest, drill bits and 7up can so can you guys get the rest? It may be item specific as the man built and repaired hydraulic cylinders. IMG_9751.JPG IMG_9752.JPG IMG_9753.JPG IMG_9754.JPG IMG_9755.JPG There is more but this is enough for now. TIA

Hmmmmm no pics. I'll get back with you.......OOOOOOOOKKKKKKKKKKK? So there are pics?

Last edited:
lowlife,

I took the liberty of resizing and numbering the items so that we could discuss them more easily.
Hopefully they come out readable below:

-brinoIMG_9751.JPG IMG_9752.JPG IMG_9753.JPG IMG_9755.JPG

Last edited:
okay...they look alright from here:

obviously item 12 is the big steady rest.
item 7 looks like it has a cut-out for a dial indicator, perhaps it mounts on the ways and indicates the carriage position?

item 2 looks like an end stop for repeatedly setting something to length, as if the base bolts to the ways and the other piece swings down as a stop, then up out of the way

item 11 looks like a carriage stop

item 9 looks like a roller support for turning big heavy items, perhaps

item 3 and 4 look as if they would support the cylinders from the inside and outside respectively.

Thanks for sharing!
-brino

Update: I think I missed numbering something....between no. 15 and the vise it looks like a follower steady rest..

Last edited:
Looking closer at item 17, I think it's a taper attachment. Strange to see one that's so short...perhaps it only needed to be as long as the tapered threads at the end of a cylinder?

-brino

Appreciate the numbering Brino and the help as well

Yep 7 is what you said it was, Sorry missed that one
10 is a face plate I think
14 actually bolts in place of the tool post

I have 2 of #9

#11 was screwed into the hole of #17 on the end
The other side of #5 contains 2 adjustable cutting tools