Need Some Help Picking A New Lathe

shooter123456

Registered
Registered
I posted a thread a few months ago about upgrading my mill or converting it to CNC. The vast majority said upgrade, not CNC. Well, looking into new machines, I realized my current mill does everything I need it to, it just takes some extra time. But my 7x12 lathe is holding me back in a few things that I want to do such as truing rifle actions and contouring and chambering barrels.

Quick thing about my financial situation if it helps: I am a college student and I only work part time when school is in. I work full time during the summers which is why I have some extra money. During the school year I make only enough to cover my expenses and part of my hobbies. So when I say my max price is $2000, and the next machine that is way better is $2900, I am painfully aware. If I try to save more, I won't be able to save any until next year at the earliest. If I outgrow this machine in 3 years, I am ok with that, maybe there will be more spending money when I get a real job. I have been checking online every day looking for a used machine but I haven't found anything that looks good near me. I also don't feel up to buying an older (like 40+ years) and restoring it.

The three machines I have found that I think will fit the bill are:

Grizzly G9972Z - http://www.grizzly.com/products/11-x-26-Bench-Lathe-w-Gearbox/G9972Z?utm_campaign=zPage

Bolton Tool CQ9332 - http://boltontool.com/Lathes/metal-lathe/12-x-24-gear-head-bench-top-metal-lathe-machine-cq9332

Bolton Tool BT1030A - http://boltontool.com/Lathes/metal-lathe/metal_lathe_BT1030A