1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

Need To Know More About This Lathe

Discussion in 'A BEGINNER'S FORUM (Learn How To Machine Here!)' started by ballhogjoni, Dec 17, 2016.

1. ballhogjoni

ballhogjoni United States Iron Registered Member

City:
    Spanish Fork
    State:
    Utah

-Return to Top-

I hope I posted this in the correct category. I am a complete noob. Never ran a lathe before. I just took a picture of this lathe. All i've been told about this is that its from the 1920's. I was told it's worth about $6k, is that accurate? Can I still find parts for this? Please see the picture attached.

Attached Files:

2. JimDawson

JimDawson Global Moderator Staff Member Director

City:
    Sandy
    State:
    Oregon

-Return to Top-

Welcome Aboard!

I could be wrong here, but it looks like a South Bend 9 inch. $6K seem pretty high.

Hopefully someone else can jump in here and offer another opinion.

ballhogjoni and 4gsr like this.
  3. 4gsr

4gsr Global Moderator Staff Member H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    Victoria
    State:
    Texas

-Return to Top-

It looks similar to a older 9" South Bend Lathe. 1920 maybe a little old for this lathe. Late 1930's to me. $6K minus 5.5K= $0.5K would be more realistic price. He must be really too proud to sell the lathe.

Look for the "South Bend Lathe" name on the brass tags in the picture. Also look for a serial number stamped on the bed out on the right hand end of the bed between the vee and flat. Either a five or six digit number and may contain letters too.

Scruffy, talvare and BGHansen like this.
  4. Ed ke6bnl

Ed ke6bnl Active Member Active Member

City:
    Agua Dulce
    State:
    California

-Return to Top-

More like $1000

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

bobl and ballhogjoni like this.
  5. FOMOGO

FOMOGO United States Active User H-M Supporter-Premium

City: