• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Options On Purchasing New Mill

Pmedic828

Active User
Finally saved enough money (maybe) to purchase a new milling machine - I now have a 3 in 1 machine and the lathe is fine but when milling, the quill extension causes deflection. Now for the 64 dollar question.
I am looking at a Grizzly 0796 or a Grizzly 0678 - I have limited space in my shop and cannot use 3 phase power - only 220v single phase. This is a hobby for me and do not intend on using this commercially. I am also recently retired and self taught if this helps. I have many questions listed below and I thought that you maybe more experienced and help me decide.
1) Quill travel - one has 3 1/2 and the other is 5 inches - one is 1 1/2 hp and other is 3 hp.
2) One has 8 step pulley system like Bridgeport and other is single pulley with VFD built in
By the time I purchase a DRO and a Power Feed for the smaller mill, the price is about the same.

Is the 5 inch quill travel better or can you get by with 3 1/2? Is variable speed better - I didn't do any calculations yet but use hardness RPM = (3.82 x SFM) / D - due to cost, I use only 3/8 and 1/2 end mills and have a 1 1/2 face mill and homemade slot cutter. Will I have enough choice with a step pulley. I know that variable speed is probably better, but cost is a great factor - is it better to put money into somewhat larger machine (or a cheaper price) or elect to get variable speed? This is something that cannot be changed easily except to get a VFD.