Question on adding rake to single point gear cutters

Range type gear cutters are not particularly expensive, and in smaller pitches can cut to depth and form in ine cut, why waste time with such off the wall methods and end up with an imperfect form?

Range type gear cutters are not particularly expensive, and in smaller pitches can cut to depth and form in ine cut, why waste time with such off the wall methods and end up with an imperfect form?
I don't understand what motivates people to make comments like this on forums dedicated to hobby work. For what it's worth I already answered that in post #4.

I don't understand what motivates people to make comments like this on forums dedicated to hobby work. For what it's worth I already answered that in post #4.
Understand that I am a Journeyman machinist, and don't like to waste time unnecessarily, I've been working at the trade since I was 19 years old and now am 79; I may not have too much time left to waste.

For some the journey is nearly as important as the final product, while others just want or need to get 'er done. Depending on the project I've moved back & forth between both camps and I suspect many others have as well.

Homebrewed, very true, and is also a method to expand one's skills , and not necessarily in 'that" project

I see the point in both posters comments and with having 65 years of those experiences in shops have been there and done that.
Conversely I have seen guys with magnificent shops and tooling produce nothing while others with the crudest of instruments make
remarkable products .
Skills, and Tooling, are not necessarily complimentary to each other !
The hobby is diverse and we do what makes us happy.
Rich

My training through my apprenticeship and beyond, was the "get 'er done." (as quickly as you possibly can), or maybe even faster --- In my own shop downtown, this was pretty much carried on.

Get'er done !