Repairs to cast iron

Izzy

Registered
Registered
I have a few cast iron parts that I would like to attempt repairing. I have little experience working with cast iron and I'm not sure what method would be best for repairing certain parts.
I've got 2 things I need repaired
1. Is a cast iron cover that broke in half it is a clean brake though and fits together nicely
2. I have a few gears that need a new tooth or 2
So what method would u guys recommend for each part and why? I'm just trying to learn so the more info the better! Also if anyone has any links to some guides for the method recommended that would be great to!

Disclaimer: I'm no expert at welding cast. My two cents:

You can weld or braze cast iron. Cast iron comes in various forms. White cast is commonly used for decorative pieces and cookware. It is called white because a fresh break looks silvering color. The large percentage of carbon in the cast makes it brittle and, in my experience, difficult to weld. The repair usually breaks adjacent to the weld. Brazing will work on it. Grey cast is white cast iron that has been heat treated, much like annealing carbon steel. It is somewhat ductile and will weld with proper technique. Nickle rod is often used to weld cast as it is ductile and a better match for thermal expansion coefficient. Even so, a common practice is to peen the nickle weld immediately after laying a bead to physically expand the weld to relieve some of the tension in the cooling cast. For very simple welds, I have successfully welded cast with mild steel rod. The weld area was small and not subject to a large amount of thermal stresses as the weld cooled. Welding studs into an exhaust manifold come to mind.

I guess that I would try brazing in both your examples. After brazing, I would heat the entire work to something short of the brazing temperature and cool it slowly in a bed of ashes. This will tend to minimize any hardening which may have occurred during the repair process.

Hi Izzy,