South Bend 11x54 For Beginner?

mariner3302

Registered
Registered
Hi, I'm new to machining but I like working with steel a lot. I want a lathe and there is one on craigslist about 200 miles away. https://charlotte.craigslist.org/tls/5229518773.html I have tried to find out more info. I asked the owner the following:
"I haven't any experience with lathes (spelled NONE) but would like to learn. I have looked around and aside from the condition of a lathe I choose, it sounds like parts are hard to come by for the 11" swing models because they weren't produced as much as the 10's. I've spent some time reading different forums and such to try and figure out what to buy and what to avoid. Any comments on parts availability? With that question out of the way, what would you describe the condition of your lathe?
I don't have much in the way of explaining what I will use it for except to say I am a general tinkerer. I would like the ability to fashion and shape metal within reasonably tight tolerances.
Anything you can tell me would be helpful.. I'm not sure of what to ask and what to look for. Would you consider this lathe as one I could learn on and not have to upgrade to soon?"

The answer I got was:
"this lathe is in good shape, clean ways and good feed. the chuck is out about .003. once you have it in place and level you can true the chuck with a boring bar and a piece of brass round stock."