van norman 22l

david hale

Registered
Registered
Hello all.

just bought a vn 22l from my neighbor for $250.00 (scrap steel price), and am wanting to move it to my shop. the mill did operate a few years ago before the owner passed away. I am new to machining and have not had a mill before. my delima is that i have to disassemble the mill into smaller peices in order to move it as i dont have a forklift and will be working with a cherry picker and a 60hp tractor with loader. was wondering if anyone could explain how to disassemble into major components. any help or advice would be GREATLY APPRECIATED

David
Wow, just searched for pics for the 22l. Those are great big heavy machines, congrats!
Search online for a manual as soon as possible. you can sometimes find information on the center of gravity and lift points, actual weights etc. Your going to need one anyhow.
If by "cherry picker" you mean a engine hoist/rolling gantry? Ok for removing parts if your careful, not for lifting the machine. I did it with a much lighter mill, it worked, would NEVER do it again.
If this is the first mill you've moved do a search and read everything you can before you start.
h
http://www.machinistweb.com/manuals/

Last edited:
just bought a vn 22l from my neighbor for $250.00 (scrap steel price), and am wanting to move it to my shop. the mill did operate a few years ago before the owner passed away. ... my delima is that i have to disassemble the mill into smaller peices in order to move it as i dont have a forklift and will be working with a cherry picker and a 60hp tractor with loader. was wondering if anyone could explain how to disassemble into major components. any help or advice would be GREATLY APPRECIATED
Hi David,

Congratulations on your purchase. A 22L is a very nice machine.