Which CAD program to choose?

Investigator

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I am a total beginner on this.
I am thinking about stepping into a home based business after my upcoming retirement. I'm seriously considering spending the money for a Tormach CNC lathe, and possibly a Mill later. The problem is I need to be able to design my parts and them convert them to G-code I think so the machine can run them.

I've had some light drafting training and experience but nothing on the computer. So a few questions:
  • Do all CAD programs work for all the different machines?
  • are any of the various programs better or worse for parts design?
  • Are any of the 'free' versions worth using, or should I plan of purchasing a better version?
  • What else do I not know that I should?

I thank you all in advance for any help you can give.

Complex G code is typically created through the use of a CAM (computer aided machining) program. The input to the CAM program can be a variety of file formats, depending upon the particular CAM program. I use one called SprutCAM which I bought with my CNC machine, It will accept, IGES, STL, DXF, and SolidWorks file formats among others. For CAD, I use SolidWorks 2010. Fusion 360 has (had) an integral CAM program which is convenient as you can make model revisions without having to go back to a CAD program, revising, and reloading into the CAM program.

I have used SolidWorks for 20 years and when I retired, I bought my own seat. It has done everything I have needed to do, With SolidWorks and other parametric modeling programs, there is a fairly steep learning curve so they aren't plug and play. I have a series of good reference books which usually answer my questions. Fusion has some good on line tutorial. I expect that other software is similar.