Who Makes The Better O/a Rig, Victor Or Smith?

O

ome

Forum Guest
Register Today
Hi everyone,
What do you think , in your opinion, is the best made system.
Is there any better than these two companys?
Are smith and victor interchangeable with guns and regulators , if one makes a better gun for example, then use the other company's gun.
Thanks in advance,
Jon

Hi,
as far as quality, both companies are established and sell entry level to professional grade torches, regulators, etc.
I have been using Victor for many years. The regulators have the same thread so the gas/oxy bottles don't care and the hoses don't care. As far as using a victor rosebud (or welding tips etc) on a Smith mixing chamber or vice versa, I'm not sure. I would try to keep the working end of a torch the same.
A side note, I strongly advise the use of check valves/flame arrestors in the system.

Reactions: ome
Thanks,
Where exactly would you advise putting the check valves and flame arrestors?
Thanks,
Jon

I'd also suggest looking at Harris (I believe it is part of Lincoln Electric now). I have had a Harris torch for over 30 years. The quality is excellent.

I'd guess you're asking a Ford/Chevy question. I have the Smith AW1A that I like very much. Whatever you buy, I'd suggest getting a torch that allows you to use LP as opposed to just acetylene. No sense in buying an acetylene tank if LP will do the job. It's cheap, easy to buy and stores nicely in your BBQ grill.

Tips and mixers are fuel specific, and you need hoses rated for LP (type T, I believe.) You can use an acet reg for LP although I've seen some claims that it isn't a good idea long-term. The aircraft torches like mine normally use A fittings while larger ones use B, so buy your torch before hoses.

Put the check valves/flame arrestors on the torch handle then attach the hoses.