1911 Slide Work

M@tt

Registered
Registered
Hello Everyone,
This is my first post outside of my introductory post.
Quick question. I am fairly new to machining, but would really like to flat top my Sig 1911. From everything I have read and seen this is a rather simple task. Has anyone done this and does anyone have pointers or tips?

Also, how difficult is it to finish a 80% slide?

Hello Everyone,
This is my first post outside of my introductory post.
Quick question. I am fairly new to machining, but would really like to flat top my Sig 1911. From everything I have read and seen this is a rather simple task. Has anyone done this and does anyone have pointers or tips?

Also, how difficult is it to finish a 80% slide?

My best advice and opinion is to practice a good bit on test pieces and chalk-up some hours before working on anything of a serious nature. To an experienced mill operator, most operations are pretty routine. Properly clamping the workpiece when working on firearms is often a challenge and frequently requires making jigs and fixtures. If a part slips-out while you're working on it, it usually ends-up in the scrap pile. The next hurdle is knowing the material you're working with and knowing what kind of tooling, feeds and speeds are appropriate. Chances are, a slide will be made of moderately hardened alloy steel. Also, folks will need to know what kind of mill and tooling you have available. The job will be approached differently depending on what equipment is at-hand.

Ray

From everything I have read and seen this is a rather simple task.

The simplicity and ease of performing a machining job is a relative concept that highly depends on the skills and experience of the one who would actually do it.
We really have no way of knowing the level of machining skill and experience you already have.