Advice on a small milling machine

Tuba Dave

Registered
Registered
Many of the requests for "what should I buy?" are pretty general . Many times it includes the term "small stuff". This does not aid my search for advice as the information is too nebulous . So here are some very specific points:

What I have:
Unimat DB200 with all the accessories (probably going to be the funding source)
Maximat 7
1930's Craftsman 12 x 24 lathe in decent shape but not as sharp as the Maximat

What I need these machines to do right now: (I repair musical instruments for a living)
make hand tools (screwdrivers, small cutters, small scrapers)
fab parts for musical instruments (mostly brass and plastics, all the steel work is on the lathe (tool steel mandrels for dent removal, little screws and hinge rods))
basic shop needs (jigs, holders and clamps, other fixtures for metal and woodworking tools)

Coming up:
I'd like to upgrade my machining by better controlling cutting tool geometry and general precision.
This means making a better grinder rest, indicator holders, more QCTP holders for either lathe, tool height gages, etc.
I will also be getting into production for profit (hopefully) of hand tools for others in my industry. This mainly means making jigs and holders for repeatability in grinding and milling processes.

I am very tired of using the Maximat for a mill and lathe at the same time. Going back and forth between the milling and turning operations is way too time consuming and distracting. Also, the milling capabilities are much less than the turning precision of this very nice lathe.

I will definitely be getting a mill with DRO. This will make some of the repairs I do now much better and easier (for example, clarinets need very precisely placed holes, and right now I have been getting by with a fiddly sort of copying jig on the drill press that is not very precise or rigid -both the jig and the drill press -- the clarinet jig will not fit in the Maximat's work envelope)