Asian 7 x 12 Mini Lathe

djb-systems

Registered
Registered
Hi All

I am new to all things lathes and I bought the lathe to make small parts for models and robotics.

My lathe is one of the Asian 7 x 12 Mini Lathes which well for me worked great for a few months (Second Hand) turning basic stuff, then the speed detector / tacho I think it is, failed, no big deal as I roughly knew where I needed the speed to be for turning, then a click and a pop later and the speed controller has went up in a puff of smoke, ahhh the joys, but I have heard this is a common problem. The Lead screw also has issues, but I think some of the sacrificial gears? are broken being made of plastic.

So I need to fix the issues.

So my first question is, what is the best way to proceed, I have heard that a lot of people with these lathes get rid of the Control System and the Chinese AC motor and upgrade to a DC motor with a much better speed controller, when I looked this up, the amount of google posts is a little overwhelming, so looking for advice on this.

Second question, since my gears are broken, is there anyway I can get rid of them but still have the ability to cut gears and have a power feed, I know I could use a separate motor on the lead screw but I believe the spindle motor and lead screw are synchronised using the gearing system, so not sure how that would work.

Just as a side note I may further down the line look into a CNC conversion so fixing my current issues that would also benefit if I do decide to do CNC would be great.

So any help is appreciated.

P.s Slightly off topic, I just recently bought one of those Vevor 17.7 x 6.7 milling tables for using with my pillar drill, anyone with experience of these as to be honest it works great as a paperweight, but as a milling table its terrible, terrible castings, lead screw nuts are not even drilled and tapped straight ect. Have I just bought a dud, or is this the quality of these tables.

Cheers

DJ