Atlas 618 replacement cross-slide handle

WCraig

Registered
Registered
WARNING: wordy write-up on a beginner-level project!!

The cross-slide handle was broken when I got my tiny Atlas 618. I could make it work by using the remaining ball end but it was awkward. Since I'm a rank beginner, I figured making a replacement would be a good little project. I used short pieces of 1/2" and 3/8" brass round stock to make the short-fat and tall-slim knobs.

knob parts.jpg

BTW, I also used a damaged spade bit to make a split-nut screwdriver so it would be easier to screw the retaining nut on and off the cross-slide.

Since I had a length of aluminum bar stock 2" wide and 5/8" thick, I used a chunk of that for the main body of the handle. Cut it off on my table saw to give me a piece roughly 5/8 by 5/8 by 2 inches.

Faced both cut sides in the lathe using the 4-jaw chuck as I don't have a mill. Laid out the holes to mount the brass knobs as well as the centre shaft. Drilled (on the drill press) and reamed the hole for the tall-slim knob without problems. When I went to drill the hole for the short-fat knob, the drill chattered and chewed up the perimeter of the hole. Switched to another drill bit and finished the hole without problems. I actually made two blanks for the aluminum body--one for practise and one for real! I also drilled the centre hole on the drill press that I had actually meant to do back on the lathe. Luckily I caught it when the hole was still undersize (before reaming).

Mounted the blank in the 4-jaw again. The drill bit fit the centre hole well so I used that to indicated the part and get the hole on centre. Then used the reamer to finish the hole to the final diameter.