Building A Tool Post Grinder

Cameras can really fool your eye! Your eye compensates for perspective better.

Wow you are doing great work. I'm going to make some variants of these Themac extension spindles. Finding the right size of ID grinding wheels in smallish diameters has been a bit of am ordeal so it might actually be easier to make spindles to match the ones I can get. Anyway, from what I can determine, the spindles are not hardened & re-ground. Personally I'd be a little leary of introducing any run out in them from quenching drill rod, but recognize I'm a newbie at all this.

I'm not sure why but wanted to point out they tend to use large face washers on the larger (~3") diameter wheels.

Also FWIW, the typical 0.250" shanked mounted stones tend to have quite different actual shaft diameters depending on which part of Asia they come from (despite what N-Am tool catalog you buy from). They might even be metric like 6mm or something, so just be aware regarding your collet ID.

7-3-2016 0004.jpg

...These pre-mounted shanked grinding stones are the ones I was talking about

7-3-2016 0005.jpg

Wow you are doing great work. I'm going to make some variants of these Themac extension spindles. Finding the right size of ID grinding wheels in smallish diameters has been a bit of am ordeal so it might actually be easier to make spindles to match the ones I can get. Anyway, from what I can determine, the spindles are not hardened & re-ground. Personally I'd be a little leary of introducing any run out in them from quenching drill rod, but recognize I'm a newbie at all this.

I'm not sure why but wanted to point out they tend to use large face washers on the larger (~3") diameter wheels.