Clausing 8520

schor

Registered
Registered
I'm looking at an 8520 for $1500. Seems a bit high to me if it doesn't come with any tooling, not sure yet. What do people think about them?

I'm a hobbyist more interested in learning than I am in making money in this, but I have been wanting a mill for a while and I just can't bring myself to buying a mill/drill. This one at least is a knee mill but small enough that I can handle it myself for transport, moving around the shop etc.

I know its an mt2 spindle and I don't see that as too much of a problem, its probably only 110volt 3/4 to 1hp motor but that's more than I need I would think for playing around. Tablesize and travel are limited but its a small machine and I understand its small.

All comments welcome.

Schor;

$1500 is high end for an 8520 unless the tooling is abundant and it has the auto feed. I got mine for $500. Actually I did $500 worth of work and that paid for it. That would be considered low end. They appear here on the east coast at times. I will keep an eye out for you. "Buicksman had one, let me see if it is still available?

"Billy G"

Billy, I sold mine.. it was an 8525 just for the sake of saying it. I have to say that I have a Rockwell 21-100 and absolutely love it. I haven't made anything crazy with it, but it is built very well and is slightly beefier than the 8520. Plus, it has the R-8 spindle. I've either brand range in price from 800.00 to $2500.00. Its all about condition and what you are willing to pay and what is out there when you are looking.

Bob

Thanks for the replies so far.

I have not heard back about tooling. It looks to be in pretty good shape from the pictures.

I've been looking for a while and even the post pdm30 type machines are 900-1500 depending on tooling, I have seen 2 go for 300 and 350. A busybee knee mill in the same class as the clausing goes for $2000-$3000.

I do not want to get into +1000lb machines in my shop.