Die grinder “scraping”

I have been grinding hardened ways for several years. I am the one who told Chris German on Practical Mach and he did a vertical mill with hardened ways. Then he made this one ----> ttps://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=18&v=YXLk0mJOwJM&feature=emb_title

Andy, in My professional opinion. Leaving those dep gouges look bad to a professional machine builder, machine rebuilder or a machinist. I also have used a belt sander to grind down worn wide ways so it looks like they were surface ground. Also use the 2 color like Ben said. Toss that Permatex away and buy some Dykem High Spot, Carbonnel or Canode.

Last edited by a moderator:
Those "gouges" do not look much more than 0.0001" deep. This represents a significant improvement over much of what I've seen on Youtube.
Often, when someone thinks about (maybe in a fit of anger) taking a grinder to the ways of a lathe, they are dealing with ridges 0.025" deep. If I read the complaints correctly, this is "25 thousandths". Can a misstep of 0.0001" ruin something that is already so far off? Maybe so, because then the carriage could get stuck at the low spot? But so much material has to be removed that a 0.0001" slip might not be so bad. I have seen worse stuff on Youtube. Sometimes, it is just interesting to see something new which kind of works. It may not be suitable for industry, but it may be intriguing nonetheless. For example, I got curious and wondered if anybody could do a DCEN TIG weld on aluminum with pure argon. Not much on Youtube. So, I tried it out and it worked. Not well. Certainly not well enough for industry. But it was strong, and there were no inclusions. I'd have appreciated it if someone put this up on Youtube, just to look at for entertainment, not necessarily to build a career out of.

So this was an experiment on my part to determine the feasibility of a technique.