Does the Atlas 10100 use felt wicks in the oiler ??...

56type

Registered
Registered
Did the Atlas 6" 10100/10200 have felt wicks in the gits oiler located in the headstock ?? I see that the bigger10" & 12" Atlas/Craftsman lathes have felt wicks to meter the oil in the gits oiler cup and did some checking on my 10100 Mk.2 and found out there were none in the single gits oil cup found on the backside of the headstock, directly under the back gear lever. I checked the owner's manual exploded parts diagram and none are listed. I fill the oil cup every time I turn on the lathe and periodically whenever I stop the lathe to take a measurement of the work (which is often since I'm a rank amateur), so I don't think I'm starving the spindle bearings of oil. Also did a search here in the site and a broader internet search with no result, despite broadening the search to include the earlier model 618 Atlas 6" lathe.

Any help clearing this up would be appreciated, as well as any sources for the felt wick (if so equipped), or any workarounds like using Dremel felt buffing wheels as described in the thread on the 10" & 12" Atlas models as a substitute. Thanks.

McMaster has felt in any size one might need. I know my Atlas 10 inch uses felt in the oilers ,don't know if the 6 inch does. We have an Atlas and Craftsman expert that will hopefully answer your question. He probably knows more about them than anyone else.

I just looked at mine and I don't see an oiler- I do see a setscrew though.
Maybe only for the roller bearing version; mine has the ball bearings
-Mark

Last edited:
I just looked at mine and I don't see an oiler- I do see a setscrew though.
Maybe only for the roller bearing version; mine has the ball bearings
-Mark