GSK, FANUC, MITSUBISHI, KND, Siemens

3Dogs

Registered
Registered
I’m probably really jumping the gun here, but I figure I might need this question answered some day so...

I’m seriously considering buying a small Chinese VMC. There are a ton of them on Alibaba. When looking at the specs, they mention being able to choose the control system. The last one I looked at says "GSK, FANUC, MITSUBISHI, KND, Siemens."

So - which one should I get?

I have no vested interest in any of them. I was thinking of making my own system using LinuxCNC (and, might still consider that, if I can get a decent discount from the manufacturer). I have no experience with any of these systems (in fact, I have no experience with LinuxCNC either).

I’d appreciate any education that anyone cares to offer.

Do they provide a complete turnkey system or only up to the servos and drives? From what I have heard, Fanuc stuff is pretty speciallized

It’s a complete VMC.
But... It’s always very unclear where the marketing ends and the completed machine begins.
I wonder if they say “FANUC,” and mean that their controller supports FANUC G-code.

From those suppliers, you will end up buying a machine that is a work in progress. IMHO => heartache support on these will be non existent.

If you are wanting to do a linux control anyway, I'd watch for a cherry condition old machine and save tens of thousands.

Yes, beware that they will probably not hesitate to lie to make a sale

Yes, I am being very cautious.
If I decide to go ahead, I’ll post my experiences, so people here can learn from my success or mistakes.

Yes, I am being very cautious.
If I decide to go ahead, I’ll post my experiences, so people here can learn from my success or mistakes.