hobby machinists in the Philippines

ajhowey

Registered
Registered
Hello, all,

My name is Andy Howey, and I currently live in Sunnyvale, California. I have no direct experience in machining, but I've been watching lots of YouTube videos and find them fascinating. This looks like a hobby I'd like to pursue when I retire in about six years. My wife wants us to retire in the Philippines, specifically in the Davao City area of Mindanao. Are there machining hobbyists in that area? Does anyone know where I might be able to purchase a (mini-)lathe and/or a (mini-)mill in the Philippines? If I can get the equipment delivered to Davao City, my wife's family could help me get it to our home.

FWIW, I currently live in an apartment, so setting up a home machine shop right now isn't practical.

Was at Cubi Point, Luizon a long time ago and saw shipping activity when visiting Manila so I think there may be some interest there. Also some mining near Bagio, again work area for machinists. I am sure you are aware of other nations that have machining industries in that part of the world. My 29 HP tractor was manufactured in South Korea and here it is now in the desert southwestern USA.
Have a good day
Ray

Oddly enough, was watching some you tube videos the other day about a American guy who had lived in Davao City for a few years, and left for Dalat, Vietnam. His 3 reasons given for the move were crime, heat, and food. We've never been to the Philippines, would like to visit. We stay in Thailand and Vietnam mostly these days, and I miss my shop in the USA. I understand the Philippine visa is easy
though. There is at least one member here that is located in Thailand. Edit* Just noticed your wife is from there, easy peasy for you then!!! Enjoy!

Last edited: