How should you secure & level a mill knee for scraping ?

AndySomogyi

Registered
Registered
Getting ready to pull the knee off this mill, all of the dovetail ways are badly mis-aligned. The Z dovetail is angled at like 0.015 over 8”.

I’m basically planning to pull it off and secure and level it to something solid, like my workbench. I just ordered an 8” square frame level, graduated to 0.05mm/m (~0.0002” / foot).

I’ve never done this before, so not really sure what to mount the knee to.

My bench is solid welded 2” box tube, top is 1.25” steel plate with 3/8 mounting holes drilled and tapped, whole thing weighs about 1100 lbs.

So I’m thinking get some all-thread and 2x4 to build a fixture to hold the knee, then I suppose I need a way to make fine level adjustments on it.

I have the top surface of the knee scraped flat, so I’ll use this as a reference to line up the column ways and dovetails.

I suppose scraping it will cause the reference to shift, so I guess I’ll have to re-check the level each scraping pass.

Also the knee doesn’t look that heavy, I’m guessing maybe 100 lbs, so I can easily lift that by hand onto my surface plate and ink it directly.

Does this sound like a reasonable approach?

Attachments

• 81415651-D9FD-4A61-ADF4-22BC306CB13E.jpeg
    81415651-D9FD-4A61-ADF4-22BC306CB13E.jpeg
    3.3 MB · Views: 36
  • 6130BDAF-BDB4-4C43-9C03-221DE649BA48.jpeg
    6130BDAF-BDB4-4C43-9C03-221DE649BA48.jpeg
    3.2 MB · Views: 35
  • 3DF54B7C-A1C1-4E16-82F1-05ACB0D4DC86.jpeg
    3DF54B7C-A1C1-4E16-82F1-05ACB0D4DC86.jpeg
    3.4 MB · Views: 29
  • 52F54ACA-B2E7-4991-BF7B-3CAD0B7C9F0E.jpeg
    52F54ACA-B2E7-4991-BF7B-3CAD0B7C9F0E.jpeg
    2.8 MB · Views: 28
  • 8D650661-221E-45A9-BFF1-FC03A91C621D.jpeg
    8D650661-221E-45A9-BFF1-FC03A91C621D.jpeg
    83.5 KB · Views: 30