How to tighten a 3 jaw?

OK. newbie here and I have been getting a lot of answers to my many questions just looking searching and reading here. I looked up this subject just out of couriosity based on what my old man (Harold, who was a manual machinist/ tool and die man in the aero-space industry) told me many years ago before I had any interest in learning machining. We were just doing some random thing and when using one of his electirc drill motors and I hung up the bit and slipped the chuck on it. I caught a little heck for that... " what are you doing, your ruining MY drill chuck!" Being German there was one way to do things - his way. I was taught then to just snug it up with the first position, then tighten it up successively, around the chuck; 1,2,3 and 4. ending up going one past the first one used to initially snug things up with. He said that's the way he was doing things running his lathe at work and thats the way it should be done. So I've always done that... then more recently doing some real tho minor type stuff in the machine shop where I worked the guy helping and coaching me along told me the same, to use all three and go one more. I was a little surprised as I had heard from others use all three, and others saying it does not matter. Reading this there seems to be more controversy about than I would have thought but do the the Snug..1,2,3,4 method and it does seem to work well for me, now it's just a habit!
Just got the first reall cuts made on my new lathe and all is going pretty well.. and a retro thanks to all those have contributed here... there is so much good and useful information I ve not really needed to ask any serious questions as yet.

Must have missed this thread. I agree, there seems to be some controversy about how to tighten a 3 jaw chuck.