Igaging Dro

I mounted a set of the AccuRemote scales to my G0402 mill and I swear they seem to have about .003 of "backlash". Approaching a position from one direction, they seem to 'return to zero' pretty well, approach from the other direction and they're "off" by about 3 thousandths. I mounted them using PVC in an attempt to ensure I had no possibility of a current ground loop (I'm also using Yuriy's Android based DRO). I'm not convinced the backlash isn't introduced by the PVC mounting blocks, so I'm currently rebuilding them in aluminum.

As most folks have already said, don't expect them to be perfect, don't expect them to be nearly as accurate as a "real" DRO (discalimer: I have no experience with a "real" DRO to compare) and you won't be disappointed. For what they are, and the price point, these scales seem to be a winner.

On my lathe I set up a dial indicator at the cross slide and find that this does the job just fine. In fact, I use the cheap indicators from HF, they are also rated at +/- .001. I always use a mike to check for the final dimension.

On my tailstock I use a 4-inch digital caliper. This set up works well unless I need to turn between centers. It gets in the way of the cutting tool. I don't have one of those square tail stocks mine is 1942 round Southbend. At some point I'll need to design something a little better so it does not get in the way. Very happy with he digital setup.

I do have one of David's 6 inch direct read DRO's on my mill and I like it. This was a recent addition. Mine is the AccuRemote. I think its just a tad more accurate than the Ingaging DRO.

Paul

I used to have that problem on just one axis on my mill (well one read head).
I replaced the original cables with heavier shieded type cables.
I cleaned and I scrubbed and it was still having a "reset" problem, twas driving me totally insane.

I built Yuri's DRO based on the Arduino, I used a 3.3v nano, and (insert bad word here) me if it was still happening.