Is the PM Magxact MX-200L much better than the standard PM optical dro?

Bryan40g

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Like the title says, is it much better? If so, what is better about it? I mean besides the nicer display and less fragile scales. Guess I’m asking more about the functions which I know basically nothing about. I just got my lathe a few months ago in October and have really only used the dro once or twice while making a special bolt for my QCTP.

I ask because I just bought the PM MX-200L. I wanted the MX-100L but they are back ordered and said what the hell its $200 bucks for something I really don’t have to have. Why not. I say I didn’t have to have it because my 1228 lathe came with the optical dro installed on the machine. I was advised when I purchased the machine to get the dro being that I’m new to machining and using a lathe. It works very well but ran into problems due to the length of the scales and I’m too scared to try and modify them shorter like I’ve seen some online do.

So I got the Magxact dro after learning it’s got a smaller form factor and I can easily shorten the scales which would be very helpful for the upgrades I have planned for it. Thanks Dave Best for your picture album of your 1340gt Best Jacobs edition. I’m planning to copy quite a few of his well thought out upgrades on his machine.

So other than the much nicer display and being lathe specific, if anyone has the same or similar Magxact dro or on theirs I’d like to know how they like it. If they can compare against the optical dro’s or if their only experience is with the Magxact dro. Looks to have more features. Thanks fellas. Y’all all have been very helpful to me since I joined.

oh and if this thread is in the wrong place I do apologize. Happy to move it if needed.